Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is one of the two policy-making bodies of the IAEA, along with the annual General Conference of IAEA Member States.

The Board examines and makes recommendations to the General Conference on the IAEA's financial statements, programme and budget. It considers applications for membership, approves safeguards agreements and the publication of the IAEA's safety standards. It also appoints the Director General of the IAEA, with the approval of the General Conference.?

The Board generally meets five times per year: in March and June, twice in September (before and after the General Conference) and in November.

Board Members for 2019-2020

The 35 Board Members for 2019-2020?are?Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Mongolia, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sweden, Thailand, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America and Uruguay.

Officers of the Board

Kumlin Granit

The Chair of the Board for 2019-2020?is?Ambassador Mikaela Kumlin Granit of Sweden.

She succeeds Ambassador Leena Al-Hadid, the Governor from Jordan.

The Vice-Chairs are Ambassador Galib Israfilov, the Governor from?Azerbaijan, and Ambassador Omar Amer Youssef, the Governor from?Egypt.


  1. Employment
  2. Women
  3. Press

Stay in touch